One Geek\’s View On…

August 18, 2006

Drupal is changing my life apparently…(Part 1)

Filed under: cms, drupal, geekNews, intro — Robbie The Geek @ 10:10 pm

Hi all my name is Robbie, and I am known online as RobbieTheGeek, have many spots I can bee found online and that is my handle. So here is the reason for a new blog, I decided I would give WordPress a try and to use and abuse it. I have 2 blogs over at Blogger.Com and they are :
RobbieTheGeek.blogspot.com – This one is rather general and alot of topics all over the place.
GeekVsMac.blogspot.com – This one I created as a little I love my new Macbook Pro and wanted to share it with my friends 🙂

This is a new blog one I hope to make a little more technical and a little more frequently updated. I am not going to get too much into my history and who I am here please stop by the other blogs for that stuff. I will warn I tend to be a smart-ass and I tend to have little patience for people that are dumb. That isn’t to say that people that don’t get something are dumb it is people that are to hard-headed and closed-minded to approach learning or understanding something new or foreign. And I am a geek to the bone… I am very self taught and very scattered I love technology and my wife (especially cause she smile’s and nod’s when I start blabbing about a little tiny detail of the tech-de-jour that she could care less about.

Ok on to how Drupal is changing my life…
I have a few projects I am working on currently and one seems to have fed the other. I have a side project (outside work with a friend) that is very much a community based site, and will need alot of user session tracking and specialized roles, and I am not a web programmer to say the least, I would call myself a Web Enthusiast with alot of knowledge about implementing web standards and accessibility. So I was going to try to learn what I could but I was sure there was some stuff out there in the opensource world that could be molded to what we needed. I then was presented with a project at my job by a great manager who gets the fact that while I can support Citrix (my current fulltime job) that I would rather be doing anything related to the web. So low and behold a project starts appearing where a website could be used and seemed to be a better fit over any other solution. Now I have some Linux experience and I am a technology whore so I jump across the table at the meeting to offer my services to tackle this issue. And poof I have a 64bit AMD Sun server now installed running Ubuntu 6.06 LAMP. So my manager and I start brainstorming about uses for a new webserver and what we would like to have it do for us, after about 20-30mins I was sure we needed a CMS I work for a government agency and there is alot of support for open source so off I went sure there was an open source solution for us, and I was right. OpenSourceCMS.com was a great spot to do a little research and from there I had narrowed it down to 2 available CMS’s. Joomla & Drupal. Then my manager said something that amazed me, “Which one will make you more marketable in the long run?”. So I dug around a little more and feel like the combination of well written (x)HTML CSS and the PHP & MySQL and the idea that there was a very vibrant development community and many created contributed modules made Drupal stand out.

Stop by for part 2 soon 🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

